One of the grandest colonial buildings in Galle Fort, Queen’s House was originally built in 1683 as the Dutch governor’s residence. When the British took over, they expanded the property, added a second floor, and renamed it in honor of the Crown - though Queen Victoria never visited.
The building later housed Galle’s first bank, the Oriental Bank, along Leyn Baan Cross Street. Today, this historic landmark remains privately owned, echoing centuries of colonial history.